Cinnamon Christmas Trees

I really needed something sweet to put out with the savoury nibbles, and to be honest I hadn’t really thought of anything. A great friend in France, who is always overflowing with inspiration, had sent me a mini video of some pastry Christmas Trees being fashioned with Pesto running through them and I did like the look of those. But I was content with my savoury choices, and I knew they worked.

When we were taking the photos for the savoury bites I happened to look in the fridge of my clever photographer. (Yes, just a warning here, if you know me your fridge is never safe, I am very nosey and always interested in the contents of other people’s fridges.) She had some cinnamon rolls in the door.

Light bulb moment.

So these are my sweet version of a little French pastry savoury party nibble.

PS. I made these in the morning and they didn’t last till my husband came home from work, I gave a batch to the photographer and my kids wolfed the rest of them. I may have had one or two with a cup of coffee.

 

 

Ingredients

1 sheet of ready rolled puff pastry
1 tbsp very soft butter
2 heaped tbsp coconut sugar
1 heaped tsp cinnamon
Cocktail sticks

Method

1. Preheat oven to 180c
2. Put your cocktail sticks in a bowl of water
3. With the back of a spoon cream together the butter, sugar and cinnamon. Till you get a paste
4. Roll out the pastry and spread the cinnamon sugar paste evenly onto the pastry
5. Cut the pastry into strips about 1.5 cm wide
6. Curl up the top and of a strip into a small roll
7. Concertina the rest of the strip on top making each layer a bit wider, you should get 2 or 3 folds
8. Squash down a little with your finger and then secure with a soaked cocktail stick be sure to push the cocktail stick right to the top of the pastry
9. Bake for 10-15 minutes till golden

img_5960

One Comment Add yours

Leave a comment