Beetroot Recipe Tree

Last Thursday everything was running late. I spent most of the day traipsing round our favourite Swedish Furniture shop with a toddler, doing school runs and visiting the dentist. It was online shop day and it wasn’t due to arrive till late. Tea really was a store cupboard affair.

The kids had risotto, which is quick, easy and reliably shovelled down without any complaints. I always have some risotto rice lurking around the back of the cupboard and a lonely onion in the vegetable basket.

But it was Thursday, very nearly the end of a busy week and I wanted a bit of decadent comfort for later when my husband arrived home from work. I do think that eating as a family is the very best thing to do, but in term time my husband doesn’t arrive home till later than I would like the children to eat, I mix and match. Some nights I eat with the children, some nights with my husband later.

This way no one has to argue over my stimulating company.

The left over risotto went in the fridge while I staggered through bath time and reading stories in the most animated way I could muster. Looking forward to goats cheese arancini balls and beetroot purée later.

This is how I did it, they are always quicker to put together than I anticipate.

Ingredients

1x basic risotto recipe , serve 2 growing kids and then use the leftovers…….

Then you need, to make 6 balls for a main for 2 grown ups;

2 tablespoons soft goats cheese
1 egg
About 4 tablespoons cornflour
1 cup of gluten free breadcrumbs

3 reasonable size beetroot. I used vacuum packed this time, but baked fresh would be lovely.

Method

Take a heaped tablespoon of risotto and really squash it in your hands into a ball. Squeeze so it all clumps together ( this is where some time in fridge pays off as if it hasn’t been in the fridge it can crumble a bit)

Press your thumb into the ball to make a hole, then spoon in a teaspoon or so of goats cheese. Squash the risotto over the cheese and reshape to a ball.

Roll in flour.

Dip in egg. Shake off excess. Roll in breadcrumbs.

Set onto a plate.

Repeat with all the risotto.

I now heat about 2 cms of oil in a wok and chuck a bit of bread in to see if it sizzles.

If so you can begin.

Using a slotted spoon put 3 balls in at a time. Fry for about 2 minutes on each side or until beautifully golden.

Remove with slotted spoon and leave to drain on some kitchen towel

While they are sitting chop up the beetroot and pulse in a blender with a tablespoon of hot water.

Swirl the purée artistically onto plate top with balls and serve with rocket or other salad leaves.

Starting of with the basic risotto recipe and serving 2  hungry children from it, the leftovers make about 6 balls, serving 2 adults as a main course.

Leave a Reply

