Beetroot Recipe Tree

 

I really love beetroot, it never ceases to amaze me how beautiful the colour is……and how easily it transforms everything it comes across to the same distinctive and unique vibrant pink. It’s slightly earthy flavour and hint of sweetness is as singular as it’s colour, and an added bonus is that it has superfood status.

I do grow my own beetroot, which really is very straight forward, until slugs get involved, so there is a point in the year at which there is a beetroot overload. Usually when I have rushed out in a race against the slug before they demolish them all. I really need to get better at slug control, but that is another story.

Though I always enjoy sweet pickled beetroot over winter, and a cupboard teaming with neat rows of Kilner jars fills me with joy, I have realised there is more to beetroot than the pickle.

This brownie was an experiment. It is an amalgamation of a few recipes for gluten free brownies and beetroot brownies. I wasn’t exactly sceptical, but when they passed the kids taste test I was surprised and delighted.

So join in the experiment. Give them a go and let me know know what you think.

450g beetroot
2 tbsp coconut oil softened
180ml maple syrup
240g ground almonds
200g dark chocolate 85% cocoa roughly chopped
1 tbsp cocoa
1 tsp baking powder

1. Cut off the stems of the beetroot and pierce with a knife. I Wrap them in foil and bake on about 140 c for about 2 hours. Till they are soft when you insert a knife. Cut up into approx 2 cm cubes.

2. Line a 9in square brownie tin with grease proof paper and preheat the oven to 180c

3. Add the beetroot chunks, chocolate, coconut oil and maple syrup into a food processor and pulse till smooth.

4. Beat in the ground almonds, cocoa and baking powder.

5. Tip into tin and bake for 25 – 30 mins.

6. When the 25 mins is finished lightly press the top, it should be springy, they should be slightly gooey in the middle but crusty on the outside. You may need to give them a further 5-10 minutes depending on your oven.

7. Let them cool in the tin for 10 minutes before taking them out to cool on a rack.

image

Leave a Reply

